The Almost Daily Thread

musings from the blue chair

Who are you?

on May 11, 2015

Lidia Laughs at Life's Tragedy's

 

 

Today you are you, that is truer than true.
There is no one alive who is youer than you.
— Dr. Seuss

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.
— My good friend, Janet

A friend of mine just published a book: Alchemy 365 by Brenda Lightfeather Marroy.       (https://brendamarroyauthor.wordpress.com/about-me/)

Her marriage to Paul was the first wedding ceremony I ever preformed! I was not the scheduled minister and yet ended up perfectly suited to the situation by faith on both sides of the decision. We connected.
I am prompted to promote her book here because I am proud of her tenacity and determination to publish this self-awareness daybook.
May 11, today’s quote from Dr. Seuss directs me back to many Julia Cameron Artist’s Way exercises and prompts me to write this post.

Who are you?
Where are you from?
Where are you now?
Where do you want to go?
What have you done?
What do you want to do?
What makes you you?

List your special qualities.
List your quirks.
List your favorite things.
List your passions and your passionate dislikes.

All of these lists paint the picture of the you that is YOU.
I challenge you to make the lists. Laugh at yourself. Cry with yourself. And as you open the gift to discover YOU more fully, I challenge you to say I Love You every time you see yourself in the mirror as a way of honoring and accepting the you that is YOU.
All the best in your journey to self-discovery. Mine sure has been a rocky and gratifying road.  Sometimes more rocky.  Sometimes more gratifying.

And I just have to include this:

Warning – bad word.  Or what used to be considered a bad word – not is as common as dirt!

4 responses to “Who are you?

  1. Sara Lane says:

    I struggle with laughing at myself on a daily basis. I’m working on it!
    Love that song!

    Like

  2. brendamarroy says:

    Thank you, Susan. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

