The Almost Daily Thread

musings from the blue chair

What if there are no limits?

on February 10, 2015
Doll series - created by Susan Rea Caldwell

Blessed

In my meditation class last week I was given the message – There are no limits.
Consider that.
So in my ruminations about that I came up with a prayer.  Let me say that I like to be all inclusive in my prayers!  Once while driving a friend and I played prayer!  We blessed things like everyone in the world who was wearing blue jeans – and everyone who was not.  We blessed everyone who was born in January and everyone who was not.  It went on and on for miles!  (This may be a statement that gives me points in the, “You are so weird,” category.  And you are posting this for the world to see!!! Oh, well.)
So, in my journaling, I asked that all the gloves in the world brought warm, healing power.
And that every time someone donned a hat they felt spiritual connection.
So then, what if all the shoes put on this morning brought connection with the earth and awareness of the life, beauty and living relationship with her?
What if everyone’s clothing brought with it a sense of protection and supported a strong knowing of the true self?
But I quickly realized this material aspect of this endeavor created an outside need.  A need for gloves, hats, shoes and/or clothing which would create limits because one person would have a silver hat and another a ball cap. And then, consider the issues of so many kinds of shoes!! One of my particular joys.
So, it all comes down to what I/we create inside, without anything outside of ourselves. How do our thoughts support our physical, emotional and spiritual self? And from which area do I listen and follow? The spiritual? The emotional? Or do I keep a nice balance.
So what if there are no limits? What can I accomplish if my mind, body, emotion, spirit connection works in sync to bring to me what I truly desire?
Which brings me to: “What do I truly desire?”
What do you truly desire?

Blessed is one of a series of dolls I am creating out of fabric, trim, yarn, earrings, bracelet pieces, and on and on!  I aspire to creating 20 of them.  And since there are no limits, I guess I can make an infinite number!!! Because there are no limits as to time or pieces of stuff to work with or ideas.  Hummm.  Let’s make some dolls today!

Blessed is 8″ x 11 1/2″ wall hanging, created from a piece of vintage wool, trim, yarn, pins, earrings, beads and bracelet pieces.  $50.

5 responses to “What if there are no limits?

  1. Sherry says:

    How lovely and spiritual. If we all could only think these thoughts all of the time.

  2. kimdmccarty says:

    This idea of no limits leads us back to the whole “God” or “Spirit” concept. I think it is why we struggle so much understanding a higher power and see it as something different than ourselves. Maybe a logical next question might be “what if we all had no limits in our thinking?”

  3. Jenny says:

    How do you figure out what you really desire when your entire life has been to survive?

    • You ask a good, a tough, question. Sharing your life and knowing some of your history and witnessing some of your struggle – It’s an excellent question!
      I absolutely believe you to be one of the most creative and talented people I know. Hands down. I witnessed those fabulous dog paintings and caricatures flow from Spirit through your hand onto the paper. And I know you know the beauty and strength of that flow and yet the financial reciprocation has never paid the bills.
      I think you know your dream. I think ideas come to you so fast and you are so curious to experiment with new methods and processes you start to spin and get confused and overwhelmed and the projects can’t completely materialize.
      It’s like me being in ADHD retirement. I am juggling so many things I struggle to stay balanced. One thing I’ve found helpful is to schedule things and stick with the boundaries I initially set (very hard for me). Like: I have a booth to sell my fabric pieces April 11 so my main focus is fabric. And I want to put my short stories into a collection and have a submission date in June. And I have a blog (which I did post on yesterday) and 4 weekends booked!
      So today is … and tomorrow is… and I have to say no to any other option what comes my way. No matter how tempting. When I do say yes to something else I get resentful and start that “you, didn’t, you can’t, you won’t” mind chatter. That B*^#@ wears me out!
      Do you have someone to do the Artist’s Way with? Someone you trust? Come back up here and we’ll work harder on the shop idea!
      One thing I do feel – if the support manifested as quickly as the ideas – WOW – the places you would go.
      Thanks for the question. You knew you’d get an answer!
      Here’s to you, my dear friend. Salute!

Leave a Reply

