The Almost Daily Thread

musings from the blue chair

Wrap-Up for 2014

on December 30, 2014
From the mid 1800's through smartphones!

From the mid 1800’s through smartphones!

 

In response to my blogging friend at http://litebeing.com/ invitation I am responding to the 2014 Wrap-Up Challenge.  I offered to write for today.

What lessons did I learn?
Well, because I did not read daily and I let the month slip by, which December can so swiftly do, I realize the drafts for my Jan 30 post for litebeings 2014 Wrap-Up Challenge doesn’t fit the prescribed format. I didn’t completely read the directions. Drat! My initial understanding was to pick a question and go for it! So, thinking about this but not committing anything to paper I am two days from Publish and not really prepared. I do know there are no lashes or grades here. Just a noticing about my personal lessons! Mostly, I am prepared ahead of time. I do not like last minute rush, or get it done panic.
I also know that the best laid plans are often up for change at the last minute but laying the ground work allows for change to occur more smoothly. And I then am not too scattered to enjoy the event.
However, completely reading the directions brings up a whole other issue for me! Maybe now I will get the setting right for the dome lights to come on in my car when the door opens. My car is 5 years old! I know. Ridiculous. Opportunity for learning is up for review.

How did I serve others?
Some people I assisted by offering a shoulder and a listening ear, some by sharing my own story, some by being available, by feeding them and loving them, or in some way supporting them.
I like to help people and so I offer my support in many ways. Certainly through the Reiki sessions and shares, Akashic Record consults, workshops on creativity I assist others in their self-awareness growth. And I am a listener and a cheerleader for many. People feel safe with me and can share their secrets and fears and dreams.  I love that.
What blessings did I receive?
By watching people grow in understanding of themselves and their uniqueness, discovering their gifts and shedding their fears, I am blessed.
It’s been a very interesting to step into my “crone” stage and realize my life experience and study translates into something useful for others. Even now, I hesitate to write “words of wisdom” yet I know I have achieved a level of understanding and truth which I am very satisfied and comfortable with. And in sharing my story and knowledge it is merely that – sharing. The person listening or asking is responsible for using or discarding my words, leaving me off the hook.  So words of wisdom take them or leave them and I get to tell stories.  I love that, also!
Something I lost that turned into a blessing in disguise?
From the mid 1800’s through today my pictures and memorabilia are finally, at long last in order. Linear order. In 10 three inch binders complete with custom designed label, my life and who genetically came before me are in plastic sheets. The process took most of the winter of 2014. I fed the wood stove and sorted. My trip down memory lane was an emotional roller coaster. Purging and condensing what others saved proved, to say the least, difficult. In the end, however, the notebooks make much more sense than five Rubbermaid tubs of chaos.
I made decisions and tossed and kept so those down the line wouldn’t have to. I suspect a greater majority of the family history would have been tossed because I am the living connection, the one who knows the most – well besides my cousin, Sherry. We have become the crones.
In these life reviews I visited there were times when I struggled, was intensely loved, was confused, grief stricken and sometimes giddy and happy. I visited many relatives and their legacy and how their lives affected mine. I spent hours in review. A Fascinating, enlightening, and gut-wrenching process.
Now, I have project complete and a visual storybook.
Did I receive any gifts in terms of powers or skills?
My own stronger sense of my authentic self is my gift.

11 responses to “Wrap-Up for 2014

  1. litebeing says:

    Hi Susan.
    Thank you for actually asking to be a part of my 2014 challenge. One of the nice surprises for me this year was meeting new people and you were among a couple bloggers who are new to me who asked to participate and join my “tribe”. I am blessed to have your presence be part of the collective as we prepare for new beginnings.

    Akashic records work and life reviews are very fascinating to me and I hope to explore more of your blog to become more informed. I really enjoy genealogy and love your memorabilia photo.

    Please add a link to the final blog in the challenge who is on tomorrow:
    Shelley at http://psychicpharmacytech.com/

    You sure have had an eventful year. Thank you for sharing it and sharing your energy and light.

    peace,
    Linda

  2. kimdmccarty says:

    There is something about that word “crone” that just doesn’t seem to fit when I think of you. It brings to mind a wrinkled, dried up old woman similar to the witch in Snow White that poisoned her with an apple. If fact, anybody that on e wore go-go boots like you did will probably NEVER qualify for the label.

    • Well, thank you. Oh the go-go boot years! Mini skirts. Disco. Yep, I was there Dancing the Night Away! As for the Witch part – there have been times! And, I have to admit, they felt really good! for a while.
      Thank you for your vision of me!

  3. Very cool, Susan! ❤ I enjoy the tone of straight-forwardness. It's so breathable. Special parts:

    "I also know that the best laid plans are often up for change at the last minute but laying the ground work allows for change to occur more smoothly."

    I also appreciate and relate to this: "I hesitate to write “words of wisdom” yet I know I have achieved a level of understanding and truth which I am very satisfied and comfortable with. And in sharing my story and knowledge it is merely that – sharing. The person listening or asking is responsible for using or discarding my words, leaving me off the hook. So words of wisdom take them or leave them and I get to tell stories. I love that, also!"

    GEMS! xo Happy New Year 2015

Leave a Reply

